Book

Cancel the Wedding

On the surface, Olivia has it all: a high-powered career, a loving family, and a handsome fiancé. She even seems to be coming to terms with her mother Janie’s premature death from cancer. But when Janie’s final wish is revealed, Olivia and her elder sister Georgia are mystified. Their mother rarely spoke of her rural Southern hometown, and never went back to visit—so why does she want them to return to Huntley, Georgia, to scatter her ashes?

Janie’s request offers Olivia a temporary escape from the reality she’s long been denying: she hates her “dream” job, and she’s not really sure she wants to marry her groom-to-be. With her fourteen-year-old niece, Logan, riding shotgun, she heads South on a summer road trip looking for answers about her mother.

As Olivia gets to know the town’s inhabitants, she begins to peel back the secrets of her mother’s early life—truths that force her to finally question her own future. But when Olivia is confronted with a tragedy and finds an opportunity to right a terrible wrong, will it give her the courage to accept her mother’s past—and say yes to her own desire to start over?

A Few Quotes from Reviews

“Dingman’s love of…dry wit, and storytelling shines through as the novel progresses. She will be an author to watch.” —Library Journal

“This book was such an unexpected surprise…it was a book that touched me, made me laugh, and made me cry.”

“I am genuinely surprised at how much I enjoyed this book. It had a little bit of everything to keep it interesting; family, friends, love, passion, humor and mystery. I absolutely fell in love with all the characters! It’s been a long time since I’ve read an entire book in two nights!”

“…I was truly engaged by this story and these characters. This would be a great summer novel for by the pool or on the beach reading. I’d definitely recommend it for fans of Josilyn Jackson and Jennifer Weiner. A good solid first novel from this author.”